ArtsErie and EDA&CC, Erie Downtown Arts & Cultural Coalition, announce the 2013 Arts Appreciation Award Recipients. This year’s recipients are: Leadership Award to ECGRA, Applause Award to Dr. Charles Joy and Applause Award to Employees and Agents of Erie Insurance, Imagine Award to Kelly Armor and the Bruce Morton Wright Artist of the Year Award to Todd Scalise. The award nominations were submitted by local residents and reviewed by a volunteer panel and endorsed by the ArtsErie Board of Directors. 

The 2013 Bruce Morton Wright, Artist of the Year Award which recognizes an artist whose work has had a significant effect on our community will be awarded to Todd Scalise. Scalise develops his work through implementing “application for art”, understood most recently through his work to develop the regional brands: Erie P()P, the Perry 200 Commemoration and Let’s Move Outside. His work, Higherglyphics, a permanent installation at the Erie Art Museum, helps to tell the story of our region. The Philharmonic Centennial Mural gives residents and visitors a new look at one of our oldest and most celebrated arts organizations and commemorates our involvement in the War of 1812. Scalise’s art has been featured on our streetscapes, t-shirts, coffee mugs and floor coverings; it has also adorned gallery and museum walls in the United States and Europe

Each year a local artist is selected to create the Appreciation Award. The work of local photographer Rebecca Samler was selected. Each award recipient will receive Samler’s stunning photograph of the Brig Niagara printed on aluminum sheeting. The Nomination Review Panel felt the work was most appropriate for recognizing the award recipients during the year of the Perry 200.